News in 2007

« More News



Denver, CO - The Denver Film Society (DFS) Board of Directors is proud to announce four newly elected board members. These highly regarded individuals will help to advance the presence of the DFS in the local community as well as increase national recognition of the non-profit organization.

The newest DFS board members are as follows:

Jaime Aquino (Chief Academic Officer, Denver Public Schools) comes to Denver from New York City, where he served as Local Instructional Superintendent for New York City Department of Education Region 9 Aquino has extensive experience as a teacher and administrator in English Language Acquisition, math and science.

David Dynak (Dean of the University of Colorado at Denver and Health Science Center's (UCDHSC) College of Arts & Media) holds a PhD in Theatre, a masters in Educational Foundations, and a BA in English, all from Michigan State University. Dynak has also served as a member of the Board of Directors for both the American Alliance for Theatre and Education (AATE) and the International Schools Theatre Association (ISTA).

Stephen Hatfield (Area Marketing Manger for Sprint Nextel) has more than 14 years of wireless telecommunication experience. During his tenure with Sprint Nextel, he has held numerous sales and marketing positions. Most recently, he assisted area marketing programs supporting Sprint's general business sales teams located in a five state region.

Nancy Silverstone (Vice President of Program Acquisitions for Starz Entertainment, LLC) is responsible for negotiating licensing deals with independent and major studios for first-run and library titles, library buyouts, co-productions, premieres, restorations, and Vongo deals. Prior to joining the Starz Entertainment team in 1998, Nancy was the manager of film programming at Home Box Office (HBO).

In addition to the four newly elected board members, the DFS has also elected three current board members as officers for the 2007-2008 term: Nina Henderson Moore (Chair), Brian London (Treasurer) and Clark J. Strickland (Secretary).

The Denver Film Society is a membership-based nonprofit cultural institution dedicated to cultivating community and transforming lives through film. Founded in 1978, the Denver Film Society produces film events year-round including the award-winning Starz Denver Film Festival. The Denver Film Society's home theatre and cinematic education center, Starz FilmCenter, presents film programs daily and is Denver's first and only year-round cinematheque, operated in partnership with the University of Colorado at Denver's College of Arts & Media, and with support from Starz Entertainment and the Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD). Denver Film Society members support one-of-a-kind programs reaching more that 200,000 film lovers and film lovers-in-training each year.

This year the Starz Denver Film Festival (November 8-18) celebrates its 30th Anniversary. More than 175 films representing over 40 countries will be screened, and more than 150 filmmakers will participate in the 11-day celebration.

# # #

Please consider the environment before printing this release.